hubnoob.blogg.se

Safari or chrome for mac
Safari or chrome for mac













The way I see it, living and working on the Internet comes with a set of compromises: you give up a bit of your identity and privacy in the form of browser cookies and web searches, and in return you get excellent web services that do things that were unimaginable just a few years ago. I’m not a privacy freak and I’m not going all Richard Stallman on web services and ad-supported businesses. Google+ faces in ads were their Rubicon: because of that, I started questioning if I really had to use Google services and apps. Google has built some amazing technologies and they have a terrific team of engineers and designers working on web and native apps, but the company’s business model, dictated by ads, has forced them to embrace strategies that make me uncomfortable because they are – again – downright creepy.

safari or chrome for mac

And it’s not getting better.įor me, Google has crossed the creepy line. I excused Google when they showed me precisely targeted ads after scanning my email for keywords when Schmidt talked about the creepy line when they started forcing Google+ onto every Google product even when they said that a future with Apple devices would be “draconian”. I don’t have a problem with Chrome the app I have a problem with Google the company behind the browser. That’s a legitimate question – I was the one evangelizing Chrome and its feature set, criticizing Safari and Apple’s choices with iOS 6. MacStories readers and The Prompt listeners have asked about my seemingly sudden decision to stop using Chrome and go back to Safari. I’m happy with the new Safari – so much, in fact, that I’m even considering Reading List as my “read later” service going forward. Google kept pushing updates to Chrome for iOS, making it a capable browser for average and power users alike.Ī few weeks after publishing my review of iOS 7, I decided to uninstall Chrome from all my devices and move back to Safari as my main and only browser on my iPhone, iPad, and two Macs.

safari or chrome for mac

I fell in love with Google’s support for x-callback-url, which I integrated in several workflows of mine as it allowed me to save time when switching between apps on my iPad sync was nearly perfect I praised Google’s superior implementation of voice dictation and feedback, although I noted how their Voice Search couldn’t exactly compete with Siri. On the other hand, Google Chrome for iOS was promising, familiar, and power user-friendly. I liked Safari’s speed and native integrations with iOS, but it was prone to errors and boring. I don’t frequently abandon systems that work for me due to stagnation, but iOS 6’s Safari exhibited a certain staleness on top of issues with bookmark and tab sync that, for me, were becoming an annoying problem. Īs I started using my iPad as my primary computer last year, I was growing increasingly annoyed with the state of iCloud sync in Safari and lack of major overhaul to a design that originally shipped with iPhone OS 1. My browser requirements have always been fairly standard (several open tabs a lot of reading sync with mobile devices), so I could afford to change browsers without having to worry about setting up a complex environment from scratch.

safari or chrome for mac

#Safari or chrome for mac full

I’m pretty sure that, at one point, I even tried to go a full week with using Opera. I guess you could say that I was quite the fan of Google Chrome.īefore switching to Chrome last year, I didn’t have a “favorite” browser or “browser of choice”: I just kept jumping between Safari, Chrome, and Firefox, trying out all the features that the three major players had to offer on OS X.













Safari or chrome for mac